They say the journey to success is a long one, don’t be afraid to go alone

Solo (noun) – A thing done by one person, unaccompanied, in particular

Solo (adjective & adverb) – For or done by one person alone; unaccompanied

I start the majority of my blogs with a quote or definition to allow you to understand I don’t just talk opinion, but fact. The reason for this post is more of an informal yet informative message I would like to share with you all, it also directs to a bit about me.

Judging by the title and definitions you probably have guessed what it’s about and I’m 90% sure you are correct, I believe in self-motivation and self-improvement to achieve targets and milestones that you set yourself. There was a long spell back in my early teenage days when I was achieving a lot of success on the sporting front, way more success than I had worked for.

Although limited to team honours and titles, I found myself gaining awards and records that were individual rather than team efforts and to my surprise too. As you can imagine what this went and done was only increase my confidence all around, I felt invincible on all scales, it gave me a competitive edge to win again and again and what would it take to do that? The same recipe as before, myself.

I began to trust myself and my ability 110% and I was adamant not to take any tips from anybody, I prefer to watch the best and learn from them behind closed doors. Cutting a long story short that same mentality has lived with me for my life and I will continue to go forward believing in my ability in whatever I do.

The point I’m trying to make is that I’ve found moving and improving by yourself means you’re able to grow in your own time and take the steps that you need to reach targets. The point I’m not trying to make is that you can do it all by yourself, because that will never be the case, we all need a mentor or somebody there of higher experience to give us guidance on the journey.

The benefits of going alone are often brighter and mean you control what you do and when you do it, depending on the discipline of yourself. I thought I’d just point this out as it was running round in my head.

Written by: Elliott-Jay Munroop

twitter-icon black facebook IG  email ej

Leave a Reply

